Barber's Violin Concerto

Posted by

Concertmaster Nathan Olson is the featured soloist for Barber’s violin concerto, which moves from a broad and lyrical opening to a lightning-fast finale, followed by Barber’s Adagio for Strings. Although composed as a reflective meditation, the Adagio is often performed as an epitaph for lost loved ones. This emotionally colorful program finishes with Stravinksy’s Pulcinella Suite, a piece composed for a ballet about the amorous escapades of the fictional harlequin, Pulcinella.


BARBER Concerto for Violin, op. 14

BARBER Adagio for Strings

STRAVINSKY Pulcinella Suite


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.