SCFD announces Tier Three funding


The seven-county Scientific and Cultural Facilities District Board of Directors approved distribution of $6,338,759.66 to 253 Tier Three organizations in the SCFD in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas and Jefferson Counties.

Metro-area voters created the SCFD in 1988 to give a base of financial support to cultural organizations. Funding comes from a 0.1 percent (1 cent on every $10) retail sales and use tax in the district. Rhetta Shead is county cultural council chair from Arapahoe County and Ann Speer represents Douglas County. The county councils reviewed 535 grant requests and awarded 515 grants. County commissioners or city councils reviewed the grants before forwarding them to the SCFD Board.

Checks will be presented in October ceremonies. We’ll list a sampler of recipients in each county. The information is available at

Arapahoe County ($1,228,099), Littleton, Englewood, Centennial area (funds are labeled formula and discretionary. we list formula, the larger figure.): Arapahoe Philharmonic: $65,300; Cherry Creek Chorale: $18,100; City of Englewood, Cultural Arts Division: $17,000; Colorado Wind Ensemble: $7,000; Denver Audubon Society: $12,500; Littleton Community Music Association: $20,000; Littleton Symphony Orchestra: $20,000; Littleton Town Hall Arts Center: $60,000; Museum Outdoor Arts (Englewood): $82,000; South Suburban Parks and Recreation-Culture and Enrichment Division: $21,000; South Suburban Parks and Recreation-Nature Programs: $14,900; Up Close and Musical (Englewood): $12,500; Young Voices of Colorado: $59,949.

Douglas County ($590,326), Highlands Ranch, Parker, Lone Tree, Castle Rock, Larkspur: Cherokee Ranch and Castle Foundation: $80,000; Christian Youth Theater Denver Inc. $16,000; Denver Concert Band (now located in Lone Tree): $12,000; Highlands Ranch Concert Band: $7,500; Highlands Ranch Cultural Association: $80,000; Lone Tree Arts Commission: $80,000; Lone Tree Symphony Orchestra: $8,000; Parker Arts Council: $10,000; Parker Cultural and Scientific Commission: $80,000; Roxborough Arts Council: $6500; South Suburban Community Orchestra (Parker Symphony) $8,500.

Both counties also award specific amounts to projects/performances by Denver and other organizations. For more information, see


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment